ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

(Civic Centre, Port Talbot)

Members Present: 17 May, 2019

The Mayor: Councillor D.Keogh

The Deputy Mayor: Councillor S.Jones

Councillors: A.R.Aubrey, D.Cawsey, S. ap Dafydd,

A.P.H.Davies, N.J.E.Davies, O.S.Davies, C.Edwards, J.Evans, S.E.Freeguard,

W.F.Griffiths, J.Hale, S.Harris, M.Harvey, N.T.Hunt, S.K.Hunt, H.N.James, C.J.Jones, D.Jones, L.Jones, R.G.Jones, E.V.Latham, A.Llewelyn, A.R.Lockyer, A.McGrath, J.Miller, S.Miller, R.Mizen, J.D.Morgan, S.Paddison,

S.M.Penry, M.Protheroe, L.M.Purcell, S.Rahaman, P.A.Rees, S.Renkes,

S.H.Reynolds, A.J.Richards, P.D.Richards, A.J.Taylor, R.L.Taylor, A.L.Thomas, J.Warman,

D.Whitelock, C.Williams, R.W.Wood and

A.N.Woolcock

Officers in S.Phillips, H.Jenkins, G.Nutt, A.Jarrett, K.Jones,

Attendance: A.Thomas and A.Manchipp

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR 2019/20

On the motion of Councillor Stephen Hunt seconded by Councillor Arwyn Woolcock, it was:-

RESOLVED: That Councillor Scott Jones be elected Mayor for

the Civic Year 2019/20 pursuant to Section 23(1) of

the Local Government Act 1972.

Councillor Scott Jones then subscribed to the Oath of Allegiance administered by the Chief Executive and made the formal Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Chief Executive was pleased to announce that the Mayoress would be Mrs Jemma Jones and the Mayor's Chaplain would be David Gage, Elder at Abercregan Evangelical Church, Cymmer.

2. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR FOR 2019/20

On the motion of Councillor Sonia Reynolds seconded by Councillor Alex Thomas, it was:-

RESOLVED: That Councillor John Warman be appointed the

Deputy Mayor for the Civic Year 2019/20 pursuant

to Section 24(1) of the Local Government Act

1972.

Councillor John Warman then made the formal Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Chief Executive was pleased to announce that the Deputy Mayoredd for the Civic Year would be Mrs Lesley Warman.

3. <u>INVESTITURE OF MAYORESS AND DEPUTY MAYORESS FOR</u> 2019/20

The Mayoress was invested with her Insignia of Office.

The Deputy Mayoress was invested with her Insignia of Office.

4. MAYOR'S ADDRESS

The Mayor, Councillor Scott Jones, then made his Mayoral Address and also took the opportunity to thank Members for their support in electing him as Mayor.

5. APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER AND THE DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR 2019/20

On the motion of Councillor Susanne Renkes seconded by Councillor Mike Harvey, it was:-

RESOLVED: That, pursuant to Part 4, Section 1(1.1) of the

Constitution, Councillor R.G.Jones be appointed Leader of the Council and Councillor A.J.Taylor be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the

Civic Year 2019/20.

6. ADMINISTRATION ISSUES FOR 2019/20

The Mayor reported that, as it was not practicable for the various administration issues to be dealt with at the Annual Meeting, it was intended to convene a Special Meeting of Council on Wednesday, 22 May, 2019.

RESOLVED: That the Administration Issues be considered at the

Special Meeting of Council to be hels on 22 May,

2019.

The Mayor then declared the Meeting closed.

CHAIRPERSON